Friend

How far would I go to see your smile?
to know you’re here with me,
to go with you for another mile
and not leave. No, I don’t want to leave.

How far would I go to hear your laugh?
to know we won’t end here,
to be reassured we’re not just chaff
blowing away. I’ll miss you, my dear.

How hard would I try to hold on longer?
to pretend not to know how to fly,
to stay with you, grow stronger together,
and not speak. Friend, please don’t cry.

How hard would I try to see you again?
to know that we can start right where we left,
to know that distance can’t stop real friends,
because that’s us. You’re the best.

Have I mentioned this?

Leave a Reply

