A Ball of Yarn

You reached into my heart

and drew it out like a ball of yarn.

You found the end immediately,

though I’d tried hard to hide it

~*~

You began to unravel me,

plucking out every piece of dirt

and every dustball from the brown wool

that had sat beneath my bed for so long.

~*~

You looked into my inmost being

and sorted through all the mess.

You found someone worth loving

even when I’d tried to run from You

~*~

In sickness and in health You carried me

far and wide on Your journeys,

showing me miracle after miracle

as you washed my wool white as snow.

~*~

Then one day You set me gently at Your feet

and began to pull my threads.

It hurt so much and I questioned Your goodness,

but I was so shortsighted.

~*~

After much pulling, tying, and stretching,

You placed me on Your lap and whispered to me.

And I saw how beautiful I’d become

at my Creator’s fingertips.

Leave a Reply

