She Said, They Said

I want to make a difference, she said
I’d like to be a little famous, she said
You’ll have to wait and see, they said
Get up and follow your dreams, they said

I don’t want to be a follower
I don’t want to be a time borrower
I want to lead, serve, and act
I’ll never kick the dog or starve the cat

I want to travel the world, she said
I want to dance and twirl, she said
You’ll have to save a lot of money, they said
You’ll have to be away from family, they said

I tucked away my pride in a pocket
I’m stepping out, shedding the broken locket
I tucked away my shattered heart
I’m running my own race like a bulls-eye dart

I want to serve more people, she said
I want to climb this steeple, she said
Be strong and be confident, they said
We’ll stand by you each moment, they said

Thank you, she said

One thought on “She Said, They Said

Leave a Reply

