left you behind

something about you pulls me in
then chases me away in the same motion.

in one outburst you profess your love,
in the same you confess you don’t.

you are my waiting
with bated breath,
you are my watching
for a sunrise
that’s clouded over.

you are my crying
the tears i collect
in a puzzle box,
you are my laughing
that’s faded lately.

you are my smiling
faded into a memory,
you are my longing
for something i can
never have to hold.

i suppose now i’ll hide away
and not turn back because you’re a mist-

one twirl, one song, then poof! you’re gone,
so now it’s my turn to do the same

because there are some things about you
about us that i’ll never understand.

Leave a Reply

