She Told Me Not to Worry

She told me not to worry.

I ran, crying, to her arms-
I didn’t understand-
I was lost
scared
alone.

But she told me not to worry.

I choked out a reply
barely holding on
to who I was
and bracing myself
for who I’d become.

But she told me not to worry.

I held back my tears
in a vain attempt
to be apathetic;
but I cared-
I cared a lot.

And she told me not to worry.

In those brief moments of silence,
when their cries could be heard for miles,
I cried, too, but they didn’t know.

They didn’t know I was broken
torn apart
eyes glazed
lips struggling
to piece together any sort of word
to describe how I felt
in those suspended moments.

But she told me not to worry.

So I didn’t worry.

I walked up to the shadow
and put it in its place.
I pushed it into the corner
and conquered.
I stood taller, stretched my neck
to reach the better prize
and blinked, slowly.

I told it not to worry
about me.

Leave a Reply

